May We Meet Again

I’d like to interrupt our usual programming to bring you this special message.

Dawn – A short story will return next week! 

Traveling. Something I love to do, especially when seeing my extended family is involved. Travelling down to Idaho is a journey I’ve taken many times since I was a child. So I guess you could say I’m used to driving 14+ hours in one day, but let me tell you, it is not easy. It was easier as a kid when I didn’t drive, but being responsible for everyone in the car and staying awake has given me a new appreciation for my parents. I’m lucky though, because I did not have to do all the driving by myself, my sister’s were great!

This visit to my grandpa’s farm was special, my dear cousin got married! Being the family oriented person that she is, she asked me along with 9 other cousins to be her bridesmaids! I was ecstatic! The result of having so many lovely ladies in her bridal party was a mini family reunion! I got to reconnect with so many of my cousins that I hadn’t seen in years, as well as meet two of my newest little cousins my aunt and uncle adopted from China.

I am so thankful that I am close to my cousins! We may not see each other as often as we like, but when we do see each other, it’s like we were never separated by countries or time spent apart. I live a different life when I’m with them.

One thing to know about my mom’s side of the family, is that she and her siblings are very competitive, and can get very loud at times. These traits have no doubt been passed down to their kids. (I call us half-bloods)

During my time in Idaho this past week, there was a topic of discussion between a few of us that we should hold an olympic competition for the pure-bloods (My mom and her siblings), the half-bloods (me and my cousins), and the next generation (my cousins kids) to see who would win and who is the most competitive mentally and physically. It was a fun idea to theorise who would take it in each category, but that’s just to give you an idea of what goes on in our head when we are together!

18986714_10154939029383172_1557005085_o

It was a busy six days, everything happened so fast and it was one thing after another, but I wouldn’t change anything for the world! From being at the farm with many of my aunts, uncles, cousins and grandfather, to bonding with mi primas during the bachelorette, to the day of the wedding at a gorgeous hotel with perfect weather, everything was simply perfect!

2 thoughts on “May We Meet Again

Leave a Reply

